It’s 5 pm: Where’s Dinner?

I think the hardest thing for mom to deal with is the fact that we don’t have dinner on the table every day at 5 pm. From the day I can remember, my mom had dinner ready at 5 pm to accommodate my dad.

There are plenty of reasons we don’t eat at 5, the primary one being we are not hungry yet. Second, we’re working and often don’t get home until 6 pm. In fact, with my work, I’m often out two to three nights a week at community or business meetings. Eating at 7 or 8 is common.

Mom now has a snack at 5. And guess what? She’s not looking for something to nibble on at 9 pm before bed like she used to. She’s lost three pounds since she’s been here … not because she’s eating less. She’s eating more but she’s eating healthier.

She’s been great about adjusting. In fact, the night my husband and I drove her stuff down from RI, we didn’t get home until almost 10. I told everyone to eat (my daughter was cooking). Guess what? Mom said no. She said we’d all wait and eat together, which is what we did and we had a great time. I guess that night was a hint of what was to come.

I’m writing this now because we just got done cleaning up after dinner. At 9 pm.

Leave a Reply

