Old, But Not Dead

My mom is a social person, the kind who will talk to the person in front of her at the supermarket check-out line. God forbid you have a piece of lint on your clothes. She’ll just march up to you, pick it off and be on her way. I used to want to die when I was a kid and she did these things.

Having said that, I’m trying to talk my mom into going to a senior exercise class or a senior club to meet people her own age, get out of the house and have some fun. I can tell she wants and needs social time. But that’s intimidating for an 87-year-old woman (hell, it’s intimating for a 27-year-old) who hasn’t had much social interaction over the years.

The City of Raleigh offers “chair yoga” for seniors, so I told her I thought she should try it. I’ll probably drag her there, like I do my little puppy when he fights me on his leash when we go out for a walk. But like that puppy, once we start our journey he’s very content. My hope is that once mom tackles getting out, she’ll want to do it again. And again.

There’s really very few places for seniors to congregate, especially as they age. Here’s what I ‘ve noticed. There’s a ton of things for young seniors to do — travel, hike, bike, bridge. But not enough for those getting up in years. There’s got to be a market catering to aging senior.

Can’t you see it? Senior class at the local Y. Senior shopping days at the mall. Senior discount day at the local hairdresser or spa. Provide some perks, transportation, even a little attention. You’ll attract them and you’ll make money. But you’ll also interject some life into their daily routines and make them happier in the process.

2 responses to “Old, But Not Dead

  1. There is a need. The older I get, the more I think about these things. It’s that wisdom thing: I have lived longer now and I can see things clearer. I love this blog. I hope more “seniors” find it!

    • Hi Sara,

      Thank you for reading and thank you for your comments. I’m amazed every day by the number of people who tell me they are dealing with aging parents. And it’s not easy for the parents, either, many of whom are uprooted. Please share the blog with others!

      Best, Mary-Ann

Leave a Reply

