The Great TV Debate

Before Mom moved in, I never put on the TV during the day. Never. I had heard about shows like The View, Ellen and, of course, Oprah. But I never watched them.

The honest truth is I like quiet. As busy as I am with work and City Council meetings, where listening to people is paramount, I like peace and quiet when I’m at home – especially since I work at home.

For many years, mom’s only companion was the TV. So during the day she spends time with her “friends.” It starts with the women on The View, Meredith Vieira on Who Wants to Be a Millionare (Meredith Vieira used to be a news anchor in RI whom my mom loved), then Ellen and Oprah. My mom is lamenting the fact that Oprah is leaving her show.

At night, it starts with Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune, then Dancing with the Stars and America’s Got Talent (Really?). I have to sneak in a show on the food channel here and there just to keep my sanity.

I haven’t said a word to mom about the TV, except I’ve asked her to lower it a few times. After all, this is now her house, too. And if she wants to watch TV, so be it. But the other night I had to put my foot down. She asked if I wanted to watch The Miss Universe Pageant. That explains the difference in generations right there.

One response to “The Great TV Debate

  1. Oh, I didn’t know that Oprah was leaving her show! Sounds like you two are working it out. Bless you for taking care of her.

Leave a Reply

