Mom’s New Hang-Out

Since mom moved in, I’ve been trying to convince her to go to an exercise class for seniors – a place where she can build some strength, socialize and gain some confidence. I was always met with a curt reply that sounded something like this: “No, I don’t want to. I’m 87 and I’ll do what I want.” Another favorite, “The class is in the morning. I’m not a morning person.”

Oh well … But then I heard her on the phone talking to my aunt and she said that I wanted her to go to a class and she was thinking about it. BINGO! I knew it was my opportunity to go in for the kill. So to speak.

I told you in an earlier post about a new non-profit in Raleigh, NC named Guiding Lights. It’s a caregiver support center. I called the executive director and asked if she had any suggestions for my mom. She told me about this new place called Independence Health that was opened by a physician. It offers activities, personal training, exercise classes and social time for seniors. I sent them an email, inquiring about their services and received a phone call back within 15 minutes. Unbelievable. I made an appointment, broke the news to mom, and let her warm up to the idea.

Mom is hooked. She had a chair massage and got her nails done last time she was there. Everyone gathers and eats lunch together. Today she’s exercising. I’m picking her up in 10 minutes. I bet she doesn’t want to leave.

While the activity is great, here’s the secret as to why she has taken to the place. Everyone is nice, sincere and genuine. The staff is there for the right reasons. They make my mom feel special.

She’s taking next week off before starting a regular program in December. I’ll keep you posted as to how it goes.

Leave a Reply

